ada SISI lain untuk semua CERITA…

cuma sebuah depersonifikasi dari jiwa-jiwa yang malang-melintang di dunia…

Archive for December 15th, 2009

Being inconsistent. And immoral.

with one comment

I just watched this great movie Memento, a Nolan’s masterpiece before The Dark Knight. Gosh, should I have watched this years ago I wouldn’t understand anyway. It’s something that requires you to think, just like watching Minority Report (which I watched in high school and I didn’t get). I really love it when the filmmakers take the trouble to turn and twist a simple and obvious storyline. I think since the human mind is sometime vagued and confused, telling a story ambiguously adds up to the beauty. Just some funny thoughts here, again to keep the page running and to fight boredom of being stuck here for projects…

Memory is inconsistent, and unreliable.

And I had this similar feeling watching Memento as to watching Fight Club, another masterpiece which deliberately distorts reality by using unreliable narrator. Although, in the case of Fight Club, it is more like a schizophrenic case.  This is the unreliability of human mind. I remembered the first time I saw this girl, she was wearing read and was dancing to some traditional music. But then a photograph shows that she was in fact wearing white on that particular day and did totally different dancing. Can I be sure I was thinking about the same girl? It’s possible that my memory was in fact combination of more than one person merged up to one single recollection of event.

Memory can change the shape of a room; it can change the color of a car. And memories can be distorted. They’re just an interpretation, they’re not a record, and they’re irrelevant if you have the facts.

Leonard Shelby, Memento.

That’s when it comes to mere fact. A record is factual. It might be useful to get practical solution. I was thinking, when it comes to feelings it might be a bit more complicated. It’s like, when you were a child you had this blanket or doll or lunch box or whatever that you always brought with you wherever you go. When we grow older, some of us have realized that we have to let it go at some point of life. I had this pillow-shaped doll when I was kid. I couldn’t sleep without it. I think it’s still there now at home, hidden in the bottom closet of the drawer in my room. The thing is, I sometimes forgot I ever had that. But when you suddenly remembered, you remembered how much you love that thing, but that doesn’t always make you want it back. We always did feel the same, we just saw it from a different point of view.

And that’s how memory gets to be inconsistent. It doesn’t give both factual recollection and feelings replication exactly  the way it used to be. That’s what makes human, human.

Is moral choice something with regards to your value?

Yesterday I watched this movie Mystic River. It’s a great Clint Eastwood movie, but still a Clint Eastwood movie. He’s always good but is always ironic to a level that can upset you, like, “Why does this and that have to happen to the character? I know it’s possible, but doesn’t it make the movie so over dramatic?” (remember Million Dollar Baby or Gran Torino? I hate myself after watching those two).

Back to topic. The connection with Mystic River is that, both characters in the two movies face a moral choice of killing the wrong person. Killing is (probably) morally wrong per se, but perhaps doing harm to the wrong people should make us even worse. I might not be right to say this. But if you are doing something wrongly with all the right intention, should you or should you not be regretful? Which one matters more, the intention or the deed, or the result? I said, deed and result are things we can acknowledge, measure, and take for ourselves. But intention is for others to recognize, and appreciate.

Okay, enough blabbering. This is a good way to spend time, I found, writing scrambled thoughts that might not mean much. I’ll come back with better suited posts for a blog peeps. Promise.

Cheers,

Jonx

Written by dj

December 15, 2009 at 1:10 am

Posted in Uncategorized