ada SISI lain untuk semua CERITA…

cuma sebuah depersonifikasi dari jiwa-jiwa yang malang-melintang di dunia…

Lines.

with 3 comments

You complete me.

We live in a cynical world. A cynical world. And we work in business of tough competitors.  I love you. You complete me.

jerry_maguire

Talking about lines, this one has been lingering in my head for a long time. Break it into three parts: the cynical world, the tough business, and the magic words. Everybody loves you for your ideas and integrity. But everybody sticks around you for your achievement and money. That’s our cynical world. I only got to the first part. Soon to see second part of business world. I’m in senior year (WE are dudes, satu semester lagi resmi STMJ loh *lirik beberapa orang*). It sucks, I know. The magic words? I only got as far as, ‘You had me at hello.’ =)

I guarantee.

I guarantee that we’ll have tough times. And I guarantee that at some point, one or both of us will want to get out of this thing. But I also guarantee that if I don’t ask you to be mine I’ll regret it for the rest of my life.

runaway_bride

Just watched the movie so decided to include it anyway. Well, I guess I know the line kinda well. Been there done that 😉 Even if you know things are going to be pretty hard in the future, would you choose to stay up or stand up? You know that sometimes we can see the result of something before it even begins? Things like you know you’re going to screw up your exam before you get into the exam hall. You know that. But you try at least. Some of us do. It’s a measure of what we’re worth, because the regret of never trying is much worse. (Lagi ga pengen ngomong soal cinta-cintaan jadi pake contoh yang agak nyimpang aja ye =p ga ada hubungannya ama STMJ kok *loh*)

Not good at being noble.

I’m no good at being noble. But it doesn’t take much to see that the problems of three little people don’t amount to a hill of beans in this crazy world.

casablanca

For girls, if the man you love so much happens to have the only suitable heart needs to be transplanted to another man who is the only hope to salvation of mankind, would you give him up? It’s not the story of the movie, no. (SPOILER alert) It’s actually more like what happens in Terminator: Salvation, come to think of it (sumpah gw baru sadar habis nulis). But the point is, we are so small and the world is damn big and damn crazy. Anyone of you who’s studying to become a doctor happens to have the heart for any voluntary practice in darkest part of Africa? Anyone in this life still thinks that that is more than a noble cause, but a calling has to be fulfilled? I don’t even have the heart to study medicine and become a doctor. Apologies to thousands of men I could have cured. Everyone needs to apologize for that I guess.

We can actually never have.

That maybe happiness is something that we can only pursue and maybe we can actually never have it. No matter what.

pursuit_of_happyness

I don’t know if Chris Gardner is the best inspiration there is out there.  Which one do you think is more important to Chris: his being a successful man in Wall Street or being able to make a good living for his son? I think it’s the freedom. Freedom is happiness, that’s a premise that can be interpreted by everyone and still holds true, methink. You are free to enjoy safe environment, midnight walk, lots of shopping, convenient transportation, good food, decent pay, moderate work and you are happy. Well, that’s more or less Singapore I guess. Are you happy living there? Wait, there’s another side of the story. You may get robbed if you walk in the street at midnight, but what can I say, you are free to blow your life and screw it to the max, or VICE VERSA. You like that? Do you think we can ever get to know which one can lead us to better happiness? Or we can actually never know?  BTW, sebagai cowok gw ngerasa cewek prefer cowok yg bisa nawarin stability daripada adventure buat dijadiin suami, bener ga sih?

I’m going to jail.

I’ve got a warrant for my arrest. Isn’t it wonderful? I’m going to jail! Merry Christmas!

its_a_wonderful_life

George Bailey was not going to jail because he was a bad person. However, there’s a really bad person set him up who did not like him and his work protecting people in his town from that really bad person who was a blood-sucking capitalist cum loan shark. We complain a lot. We whine and whine. But when you hit the rock bottom: penniless, loveless, jobless, homeless, or merciless, think about it. Could things get any worse? Better still, you are alive in these conditions. Could things get any better? So come on, people. Go ahead and screw your life up and have fun with it… No, I don’t mean it literally, hahaha… Watch the movie and you’ll find better appreciation for life, and classic cinema 😉

All that shit.

I’m not talking about you taking me out. That part, I get. But look at all that shit. Do you really need all that shit?

bad_santa

I remembered reading a note in facebook by a friend about how things in Singapore seems to be superficial, the glittering street light of tall buildings and shopping malls, the parade of never ending multi-million dollars luxuries, all that shit, but is okay for short term ‘contract’. I also remembered another friend thinks that money is important, but it is not the most important. Note the money is important statement. You know what interesting conclusion I came upon on this matter? That you have no right whatsoever to defy the argument by saying money is shit if you never have enough to spend on anything. You have no right to claim how superficial the world is until you have all the money to indulge in those superficialities. It’s an irony. So go ahead and get super-rich, people! And prove to yourself whether you do need all that shit or not. Too much?  Or another way to live it: just believe in the principles of contentment. It works for most people, I heard. I don’t know how it is for me.

Written by dj

July 3, 2009 at 2:05 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WOI.. Gambarnya masi blm muncul2 ne.. ud hampir 8 jam.. Hahaha.. Comment?

    Um.. “It’s true..” :] for all the parts u wrote.. we shouldn’t say.. “oh i hate doing this; if i were to be given a chance to do that, i know it would have been much better..” when we don’t really know any sh*t about how it feels like doing “that”..

    stability.. or rather.. certainty.. is indeed what they would really hope to have.. but not everyone is like that.. :] I’ve met one person that chose the other way and waited for me.. but yea.. i know i @#$%^%&%$#@$ that opportunity.. anyway, my point is that not every girl/woman requires you to give them the so-called stability before you let her to the altar ;]

    “So go ahead and get super-rich, people!” <– YEA!!! HAHAHAHAHA.. we can talk about that sh*t later ;p

    Alex

    July 3, 2009 at 10:52 am

  2. ‘….But when you hit the rock bottom: penniless, loveless, jobless, homeless, or merciless, think about it. Could things get any worse? Better still, you are alive in these conditions. Could things get any better? So come on, people. Go ahead and screw your life up and have fun with it… No, I don’t mean it literally, hahaha…’

    Have you? Will you really, when you have it? I have. I have been penniless, loveless, (well not jobless at least, but really, really tired of it), (soon) homeless and merciless and the more I think that life has fucked me up from every direction, the more I’d cry and then literally laugh out loud in solitary. Because when you really have nothing left and no one to share the burden you’d soon be knocked in the head and realize that you’ve just witnessed and been part of the ultimate satire in the universe. And by then, you’d stand up, smile, and talk and laugh and walk and grin your teeth and be fabulous as if nothing has ever happened. Nothing has ever really happened, anyway. By then you could fuck meditation and yoga; they dont mean a shit. You’re the one who’s been enlightened.

    berlina

    July 6, 2009 at 11:42 pm

  3. aduh bnyk f-wordnya, hampir gw sensor…hahaha

    I was talking about returning to zero. Some people never even start from zero, mind you. Do you think solipsism helps? Or maybe it only makes you a skeptic. As meditation and yoga make you sort of a hopeless romantic. See? People usually have either positive or negative attitude towards happening shat. Some are struggling to stay neutral. Some are clever enough to be indifferent. Some just like to watch. I probably like to watch.

    Still, the best thing is to stay fabulous and to look awesome.

    What a fucking joke.

    jonx

    July 7, 2009 at 6:48 pm


Leave a Reply

